Tags

, , , ,

I learned how to crochet a while ago, but haven’t done it for a few years. I was looking at knitting books recently and it reminded me that I already knew how to crochet. I decided to try to remember how and with a few clicks through crochet how-to websites, it all came back to me…

Here is an easy starter crochet project to try. I also included links to basic stitches. You can whip up a couple squares in no time! You only need to know three stitches. Basic instructions borrowed from Deer Little Fawn.

Supplies:

  • Yarn (any weight or fiber) I used cotton here just because I had it!
  • Crochet hook to match gauge
  • Scissors
  • Comfy chair

Basic Stitches

Ch (chain), join with sl st (slip stitch) to form a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 3, 2 dc (double crochet) in ring, ch 3, * 3 dc in ring, ch3.

Rep from * 2 more times.
Join and break off on this and every round.

Rnd 2: Join yarn in any ch-3 sp (space), ch 3, work 2 dc, ch 3 and 3 dc in same sp, * ch 1, work 3 dc, ch 3 and 3 dc in next ch-3 sp.

Rep from *2 more times, end ch 1.

Rnd 3: Join yarn in any ch-3 sp, ch 3, work 2 dc, ch 3 and 3 dc in same sp, * ch 1, 3 dc in next ch-1 sp, ch 1 work 3 dc, ch 3 and 3 dc in next ch-3 sp(corner). Rep from * around end ch 1.

Rnd 4: Join yarn in any ch-3 sp, ch 3, work 2 dc, ch 3 and 3 dc in same sp, * (ch1, 3 dc in next ch-1 sp) twice, ch 1, work 3 dc, ch 3 and 3 dc in next corner sp. Rep from * around, end ch 1.

At this point, you can keep going and make the square as large as you’d like.

Remember to tuck in the ends and trim when you’re done.


I’m not sure what I’m going to do with mine yet. Maybe join them into an easy throw.

I’m also working on the quilting portion of my latest baby quilt.

Making the quilt sandwich is my least favorite part. I don’t know why, but I always procrastinate when I get to this point.

It will be Christmas time before you know it! Gotta keep crafting.

Have a good weekend!

