Tags

, , , ,

I used to think I would hate fish tacos. I hadn’t ever tried them, but the whole idea just seemed unappetizing to me. Then, one day I made my own fish tacos because I had some snapper I needed to use. And I LOVED them! Well, I tried to find that recipe, but of course I couldn’t. I always seem to lose my recipes, mostly because I never write them down or remember to save them in my recipe box online. Oh well, allrecipes.com to the rescue!

Here is the fish taco recipe we had last night adapted from this one on allrecipes.com. So good!

Necessities:

  • 1 cup fresh corn (frozen works too)
  • 1 medium red onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced (any color, I used green)
  • 1 half rutabaga, diced
  • 1 cup chopped cilantro
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1 lb white fish (I used cod, snapper or tilapia would also be good)
  • sour cream
  • guacamole
  • 1/2 tablespoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
  • olive oil
  • tortillas

Mix together corn, bell pepper, onion, rutabaga, lime juice and cilantro in a large bowl. Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine cayenne, pepper, and sea salt.


Brush olive oil over both sides of fish. Rub the seasoning you just mixed together onto both sides of fish. Heat a large pan over medium high heat. Cook the fish about 3 minutes on each side. A little longer if the fish is thick.

Meanwhile assemble your guacamole. I see no reason not to use the pre-made seasoning packets for this if you’re in a hurry!

Warm up your tortillas and get your toppings ready.

After the fish is finished, flake it, and assemble your tacos. Yum!

The beauty of this recipe is that it only takes about 25 minutes to make. Feel free to substitute or add your favorite veggies into the salsa. It would be great with tomatoes or even carrots if you like to customize.

