Tags

, , , , , , ,

What do you need on the day after Halloween? More candy? Ok!

This is one of my favorite recipes for dessert when I want something peanut buttery/chocolatey but don’t want to wait for cookies to bake. By no means did I invent this recipe. Just adapted one from food.com.

Necessities (well not really, feel free to add in whatever toppings you desire):

8 cups of plain popcorn

1/2 cup corn syrup

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 peanut butter (or other nut butter)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Optional:

1/2 cup chocolate chips (or more)

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

rainbow sprinkles

First cook your popcorn. I use a whirleypop. They are the best popcorn cookers around. Set aside.

Then, combine the corn syrup and sugar in a medium sauce pan over medium heat. Stirring frequently (not necessary to stir¬†constantly, but don’t leave unattended!).

Once it’s bubbly, add in the peanut butter. At this point you should stir constantly so the peanut butter doesn’t burn. Once the mixture is smooth, turn off the heat.

Add the vanilla. Stir.

Pour over the popcorn. Stir to coat.

Add topping(s) of choice. Stir to combine. For my batch, I just added chocolate chips.

Enjoy!

