Tags

, , , , , , , ,

(Image by anthropologie.com LLC)

I love headbands right now. Maybe a bit too much. I wear one almost every day. But hey, who’s counting right?

I have a few headbands from Anthropologie that I have worn to death. The fit is so comfortable and easy that I just can’t stop buying them. I always thought that it would be easy to make, I just never tried. However, I recently bought a bunch of ribbon and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Inspiration has struck!

Here is how to make your own Anthropologie inspired headbands from ribbon or even fabric if you’d like.

Supplies:

16.5 inches of ribbon (or fabric)

16.5 inches of felt, trimmed to match the ribbon width.

2, 8 inch pieces of elastic cord

thread

seam ripper (if you’re like me)

Fray Check (seriously awesome stuff!)

Cut all of your ribbon and felt to size. You may have to sew two pieces of felt together. If you do, just press the seam open with your iron and line up the seam halfway between the two ends of the ribbon. This ensures that the seam will be in the middle of the headband and least likely to be visible.

Next, pin the ribbon and felt wrong sides together. Sew one side together as close to the edge as you can. If you pick a thread color similar enough to the ribbon, you won’t be able to see if you accidently don’t sew through the top. This happens to me when I try to sew very close to the edge. As long as you are sewing through both the felt and the ribbon most of the time it will work perfectly! Make sure to leave about 1/4″ unsewn at each end. Be sure to backstitch.

Now, sew down the other side.

Next, if you remembered to leave the ends unsewn, fold the ends of the ribbon and felt in and press. If you forgot like I did, just rip the seams out to about 1/4″ and fold.

Tuck about 1/2″ of both of the elastic cords through the open end of one side.

Sew through all layers at the ends. Sew about 1/8″ from edge. Repeat once or twice to make it sturdy.

See how unpretty my edge sewing is! But it doesn’t matter since it will be under my hair. Now, repeat the last few steps to tuck and sew the elastic onto the other side.

All you have to do now is add some Fray Check to the ends of your thread and trim. You’re all done!

Enjoy!

Oh, and Happy Halloween!

