Tags

, , , ,

I have been baking an enormous amount of cookies for Christmas gifts. Here is one of my favorite recipes.

Necessities:

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp hot water

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups flour

2 cups chocolate chips

1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees. Cream butter and sugar in large mixing bowl. Beat in the eggs. Stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in the hot water and add to cream mixture along with the salt. Stir in the flour until mixed. Add in the chocolate chips and walnuts if you are using them. I generally don’t add walnuts, but I’m sure it is good with them!

 I use a large scoop to measure my cookies. It is an obscenely large pile of dough and unfortunately for my thighs, that is what I use.

Cook for 21 minutes if you are using large dough balls like mine. You may have to play with the timing a little bit. I have a gas oven at home. When I cooked these at my mom’s house with an electric oven, they cooked faster. A good way to tell if they are done is if the edges and the bottoms of the cookies are light brown when you lift them from the tray.

Enjoy! These are a great chewy chocolate chip cookie to give as a gift. Or if you are like me, to eat for yourself!

