Tags

, , , , , ,

This is one of my favorite and easiest dinners to make on the grill. My husband was working late so this is the plate I saved for him in the microwave!

You will need:

2 steaks (your choice of cut, I like tri tip or sirloin)

Marinade (I used McCormick’s Montreal Steak Marinade)

Olive oil

A couple big handfuls of Spinach

1 Red onion

1 Zucchini

1 box of Crimini Mushrooms

4 cloves of garlic

A bunch of fresh Basil

Salt & Pepper to taste

About 30 minutes!

Start by marinading the steak in your favorite marinade for about 30 min in the fridge. The marinade I used was 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 Tbsp soy sauce, and 2 tsp seasoning. You could just as easily use sea salt, pepper, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes if you don’t have any Montreal Seasoning on hand!

Start the grill. Heat to about 300 degrees or so. Or if you are visual like me and have a gas grill, put the burners on 3/4 high.

 Then, chop your onion, slice mushrooms and zucchini.

Next, heat about 1 Tbsp of olive oil in two saucepans over medium heat. While this is heating, you can start cooking the steak on the grill, about 4 minutes per side depending on the thickness. When the oil in each pans is hot, add the onion to one pan and saute for about 5-7 min, until transparent.

 Add the zucchini to the other pan and saute for about 2-3 min.

Then add the mushrooms and basil to the zucchini pan.

While this is going on, it’s probably about time to flip your steaks.

Now the onions are about ready for the spinach. Add a couple big handfuls. It looks like a lot but it will shrink down quite a bit as it steams.

Your spinach and onions should be almost ready. Top with salt and pepper.

Now that your zucchini and mushrooms are tender, top with pressed garlic cloves.

Only cook for 2 more minutes or so, garlic burns pretty fast.

A really important part about cooking at my house is the helpful dogs that pick up food that flies on the floor. This happens a lot. Bella knows when I’m cooking to stick close for floor goodies…

Once your steak has reached about 145-150 degrees F on a meat probe, or it feels firm when you flip it if you don’t have a probe, you can pull it off the grill. If the steaks you are cooking are the same size as mine, it should take 8-10 min to cook to med rare.

Looks good! I don’t like super rare steak, so I let mine rest under tin foil for a couple minutes while I served my veggies.

Garnish the mushrooms and zucchini with parmesan cheese if you like.

Dinner is Served! Or waiting for your husband when he finally gets home. Enjoy!

In quilting news, I have all of my big blocks cut out for the Sanctuary quilt. Now to cut all of that sashing…

Also I am going to work on a felt stuffed elephant today. We’ll see how that turns out!

