Tags

, , , , ,

Since I am still waiting for my new piece of fabric for the diaper bag, I decided to finish a little project I have been working on. It is from Amy Butler’s Style Stitches. I made the check book cover.

 

I used fabric from Anna Maria Horner’s Innocent Crush and Lou Lou Thi Collections.

It only took a couple hours to make and turned out really cute!

Yesterday for dinner we had Chicken Pot Pie Soup. We are trying to eat less carbs because we are going to Hawaii for Christmas! I have been craving chicken pot pie (which I can’t have right now) and also soup (luckily I can have!), so this was the perfect solution! I used a recipe from Women’s Day Mag. Here’s How it went.

First chop up 2 carrots, 1 stalk of celery, 1 parsnip and the white and light green part of 1 leek.

 Meanwhile, melt one tbsp butter in a large pot.

Add the vegetables and saute for about 5 minutes.

Then add 1/4c flour. I used white whole wheat flour. Cook, stirring, for about a minute. Then add 6 cups of chicken broth,

2tsp fresh thyme, salt and pepper to taste. Bring this to a boil.

Then add 3 chicken breasts and simmer covered for 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked. If you want to have crust with the soup, now is the time to cook it. Open pastry and cut into 12 rectangles. Bake for about 12 minutes. I had to skip this step. Someday I will make this soup again with the pastry! It sounds so good. Also while the chicken is cooking, this is a good time to cut up 4oz of fresh green beans into 1 inch pieces.

When chicken is done, remove from broth and shred with a fork.

Add green beans and cook for 5 minutes.

Add shredded chicken back to soup. Remove from heat and top with puff pastry if using.

Enjoy!

Today I am working on a new project from my sparkle for Matryoshka Doll Ornaments. My sisters and I are going to make them over Thanksgiving when they come to visit. I want to do a trial run to see if we would need more supplies.

Also, yesterday I found a fat quarter quilt pattern from Fat Quarterly’s 2nd issue. It’s called the Sanctuary Quilt and it is a modern rectangle and triangle quilt that will feature the prints in large pieces. I am going to use the teal and coral fat quarter set I ordered from Fabricworm.

Well, I had better get to work!

