Tags

, , , , , , ,

I hope everyone had a happy holiday! My focus lately has been spending time with family and crafting and unfortunately writing about it has kind of fallen to the bottom of the list.

treeOur tree was rather large, but the ceiling is so tall in the center. I thought it would look silly with a small tree. That is the tree skirt I made last year.

friendsI got to spend time with some of my favorite people! Its been a really long time since we’ve all been together and taken a good picture. I can’t believe we’ve all been friends for 13+ years.

Oh boy, was I busy with crafting since my last post! So many different things made. Here’s a recap of a few of the things I’ve been working on.

socksI knitted these socks during a knit-along with Eat.Sleep.Knit. The pattern is called Froot Loop by Kristi Geraci. It looks harder than it is. Its an easy to remember repeating top down sock pattern. I am planning on doing it again I liked it so much. The yarn is by Squoosh Fiberarts in the merino cashmere sock yarn and the color is Triton. I actually won this yarn from ESK’s (that’s their acronym. Knitters love acronyms) yarn lotto. They give you a lotto ticket in each order and I have won something every time! They also give out prizes for the amount of yarn you buy and call it a Yarnathon. I think I only hit the 5K mark last year, but I’m sure I’ll do better this time. That’s both a good and a bad thing. I made these for my mom.

bags1Next up, I made my friends and sisters makeup bags from Amy Butler’s book, Style Stitches. Ambitious? Yes. I made 10! What was I thinking?! I loved the pattern at first, but after making about three bags I was sick of it. Nothing against the pattern of course, I always get tired of doing the same project more than once. The only change I made to the original pattern was to quilt the exterior. I highly recommend this book. Her instructions are very clear even for first time bag makers. I made the checkbook pattern a few years ago.

bags3 bags2The fabric (for the most part) is Bungalow by Joel Dewberry, who is one of my favorite fabric designers. I especially like the lining fabric pictured just above.

new quiltI am currently working on a new quilt for my cousin’s new baby due in April. I am doing something new: a completely solid color quilt, except for the backing which has a polka dot pattern. And…it is going to be round! I am so excited to see the finished product I might actually work pretty steadily on it. I want it to be a surprise so I won’t tell you the pattern quite yet. I am using Kona Cotton Solids New Bright Roll up as the main feature. The baby will be a boy, so I am planning to use mostly blues and greens, typical I know. I can’t get too out of control!

In other news, I got a serger for Christmas from my mom. Clothes sewing here I come. Keep an eye out for a new tutorial from me coming up soon (which from me usually means a month or two from now) for a customizable quilted tablet cover.

elizabethstAlso, Matt got me a membership to the local beer convenience store/bar called Elizabeth Station. It is one of the coolest places in Bellingham. They have a whole wall dedicated to all different types of microbrews and craft beers from local breweries and around the world. Probably the best Christmas present ever. That’s part of the fridge of beers in the background. If you are in the area, you have to check them out at 1400 W Holly Street. They also have about 20 beers, ciders, and a few wines on tap behind the bar. If you don’t find something you like they will open a bottle from the fridge for you to slake your thirst.

Cheers!

